Cataract Surgeon Dr Dreige

Dr. Danny Dreige


Over 35,000 ocular procedures performed


Educational background

Dr. Danny Dreige obtained his medical degree from Laval University in 1997, before pursuing graduate studies in ophthalmology at the University of Montreal where he was also chief resident in 2001. In 2005, Dr. Dreige completed a specialized training in general ophthalmology and ophthalmic emergencies at the Notre-Dame Hospital of the University of Montreal.


Refractive experience

Dr. Dreige is an experienced eye surgeon who has performed more than 13,000 cataract surgeries and 22,000 intraocular therapeutic procedures. In addition to his work as an ophthalmologist at Le Royer Hospital in Baie-Comeau, he has also served as head of the department since 2006. Dr. Dreige also worked for several years as an ophthalmologist at Baie-Saint-Paul Hospital. In 2016, after less than two years as an ophthalmologist at the Institut privé de chirurgie de Québec, he assumed his current position of Medical Director. Dr. Dreige also works at Laval University, where he has been a clinical lecturer in ophthalmology since 2018.


Accomplishments and awards

During his studies, Dr. Dreige received the Governor General of Canada’s Academic Medal as well as numerous scholarships for excellence and merit. He also won the 14th Journée de la recherche Prize from the University of Montreal.


Dr. Dreige has participated on numerous occasions in the Journées ophtalmologiques of Laval University and the Entretiens ophtalmologiques of the University of Montreal as well as in symposiums and scientific congresses on various topics in the field of ophthalmology. On many occasions, he was able to share his knowledge during presentations on ocular pathologies, ophthalmological emergencies, and their treatments.


Associations and professional memberships

  • Collège des médecins du Québec
  • Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
  • Canadian Medical Association
  • Association des médecins ophtalmologistes du Québec
  • American Academy of Ophthalmology